Is the World Spinning into Insanity PLEASE READ

Following the current events can truly sicken anybody. I feel so disturbed that I felt I needed to write about it.

First, the travesty of MH17. There is no doubt this was a horrible event, but my heart is equally as broken for the families and passengers of flights that have been mistakenly shot down or just disappeared.

Second is the crisis in the Middle East. Today the Daily Beast reported that Hamas had secured an arms deal with N Korea. A scary partnership. I am as horrified as the next person at the images of death and destruction . #gaza #israel

What scares me more is the propaganda trap the media seems to enjoy being trapped in. When I went to college we called it propagandaWe didn’t live in the dangerous World of global media when I was growing up. The media acted responsibly unlike the organizations of today (e.g. #CNN)

The other matter I would like to mention is the flood of children illegally entering the US. Like many Americans I am the descendent of immigrants. My descendent a endures unbearable conditions to get to this country and even once they were here. The current immigration problems are stimulating law makers to find solutions that circumvent the laws of our nation. Something I just do not understand or agree with.

My hope is that the War Machine that dominated our lives and ruined our economy will not resurrect it’s ugly face. If we don’t take the time to understand where we have been

we will be forced to relive history, rather than learning from it.

I certainly don’t mean to be a preacher, but I just hope that we are able to stop and think in a rational manner before we travel down the path of no return.

About Richard Ellis

. Currently I am a docent and a member of the Further Education Dept. at the Smithsonian Institute. My interests are many including: history, current affairs, the environment, education, digital photography, dogs, exercise, gardening, travel,fitness, films, theater, classical rock, folk & country music and more that I cannot think of at the moment
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

